top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTimothy Daugaard

"Bud of Joy" - Amy Carmichael

Updated: Oct 6, 2022

I love Amy Carmichael's poetry. The richness of expression coupled with the profundity and striking beauty of what she describes is almost unrivaled. Suffering for the sake and glory of Christ is never in vain, and much good came from her experiences of suffering, including many poems and songs. This poem, “Bud of Joy,” makes much of God’s wise care of His children, the new ones and the seasoned, with great use of poetic garden language. Come, bud of joy, the driving rain

that all thy young, green leaves doth wet

is but a minister of gain

to that which in thy heart is set.

Come forth, my bud; awake and see

how good thy Gardener is to thee.


And pass, my bud, to perfect flower,

dread not the blast of bitter wind;

thy Maker doth command its power,

it knoweth not to be unkind.

Haste thee, my flower; unfold and see

how good thy Gardener is to thee.


O fruit that cometh after rain,

O fruit that ripeneth in the sun,

now praised be God that not in vain

for Thee the changeful seasons run.

O fruit of mine, make all men see

how good thy Gardener is to thee.

Great Gardener, whose grey rain beat,

and sudden blasts of grievous wind,

whose sun devoured me with his heat,

I know Thee wise, I know Thee kind.

Let all who look be caused to see

how good thy Gardener is to thee.


And when the sap in me doth fail,

and natural vigor of my youth,

then may Thy life in me prevail

that I may still show forth in truth

by flower and fruit on this my tree

how good my Gardener is to me.


1) Why should we not despair in the driving rain?

If our heart is set on the Gardener, we recognize that, like the rain that bends the stem to the ground yet also refreshes the roots and the soil, the hardships that we face as Christians refresh us in who God is for us and bring new growth. Is the rain hard to endure? Yes, but it comes from God’s hand of providence to make us grow.


2) Why should we not dread the blast of bitter wind?

If our heart is set on our Maker, we recognize that, because He commands the wind’s power and it is His will that we unfold from bud to flower, we have no cause to dread the instruments of God’s kindness.


3) Why should we praise God for the changeful seasons of life?

If our heart is set on our good Gardener, we recognize that the change of seasons which He ordains brings forth fruit which ripens with the rain and sun, that people may see His ostensible goodness.


Dear Gardener,

You who send the driving rain, the bitter wind, the scorching heat,

You whose will is that I grow from bud to flower to fruit:

I know You to be wise, I know You to be kind.


Help me to prevail, whether vigorous or frail,

in flower and fruit to manifest Your truth,

that many would see

how good my Gardener is to me.


In the name of Jesus Christ,

Amen.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page